Daily Post – Fly on the Wall

The Daily Post asks: If you could be a “fly on the wall” anywhere and at any time in history, where and when would you choose?

I’ve never been big on knowing people’s secrets. I remember the first time I was told a secret that I had to keep – I was about 5 years old (I’m one of those weird people who remembers huge details of their childhood) and I was given the secret to keep of a surprise party. Even then I understood that it would be rotten to tell the person whose party it was – because it would ruin it for them.

With secrets comes responsibility.

I’m not one who needs to know everything. I don’t gossip; I get no pleasure out of learning other people’s misfortunes, nor to I wish to add to them by telling others who have no business knowing about them. Why do we keep secrets? Many if not most of the time it’s because we’re ashamed.

With secrets comes grief.

And then there are the secrets we keep tucked away because they are special to us. Happy, intimate moments we share with loved ones that would lose the element of preciousness were we to tell even one other person.

With secrets comes contentment. I’d never want to ruin that for someone else.

So to be a fly on the wall would be a horrid experience for me. And knowing my luck, I’d meet my end on the back of a fly swatter anyway.

2 thoughts on “Daily Post – Fly on the Wall

  1. If time travel were possible, I would first want an iron-clad guarantee I could get back to the present safely. Despite all the hand-wringing anxieties of today’s world, this is the safest and most prosperous era that has ever been. Imagine a time with no anesthetics or modern dentistry, for example. But that aside, if I could listen in on, say, 30 A.D., I wouldn’t be able to understand a single word of Aramaic, and the same problem would apply to most other eras. Another problem would be spotting the exact time and place of events of interest – a lot of wasted time.

    As for secrets, Isabella, if you can keep them you are an unusual person. I think it was Ben Franklin who said, “Three can keep a secret, if two of them are dead.” But, I can think of one type of secret that is good to keep: criticisms of people who are different from us, but which are merely cultural. Different clothing or eating habits, for example. Tolerance is the world’s great lack, methinks.

    Like

    • You have a definite point about the time travel, Jim. Knowing my luck I’d kill a butterfly by accident. 😛
      I must be an unusual person. I’m not saying I’ve kept every secret I’ve ever been told, but if I decide to keep one, it’s kept. As for keeping criticisms secret, I agree that a lack of tact at the very least, and outright utterance of hatred at the middle ground (with total intolerance resulting in murder) is something that our societies could do with an attitude adjustment over. There’s no excuse for bigotry in a world where all of us are basically the same…
      I could go on and on and on.
      Thanks as always for your thoughtful comment. 🙂

      Like

Say something, damnit!

