O is for Opinions

Any piece of fiction, any work of art for that matter, is subject to people’s opinions and is therefore subjective. In other words, you can’t please everyone, because everyone has their own point of view and the experience from whence it came. This can be difficult for writers – some appreciate differing opinions from readers and some hate them. I, myself, often find that I’ll try to stay politically correct, at least when blogging, so as not to piss anyone off. I actually dislike that about myself, but it is what it is.

This issue I have sometimes bleeds over into my works of fiction, making me question whether or not to leave in what I’ve written or take it out. I’ll give you an example.

Without spoiling the story, J.K. Rowling’s A Casual Vacancy ends with a completely heartbreaking scene. In reading it, I felt that she could have changed the end of the story, but that would have been a lie. Staying true to a story, no matter the consequences, is of utmost importance. What Rowling wrote was true.

At the end of my own novel I have a similar scenario. I CAN leave something out which could potentially cause an uproar, but it’s really what happens. It’s true. To change it would be a lie.

You see, stories like mine aren’t told. They’re found. I believe every one of my stories exists somewhere in the universe – I’m just lucky enough to be the one to find them. They have a beginning, a middle and an end, and for me to oppress the end for the sake of possibly half the population who might hate me, would make the entire works meaningless.

It takes a lot of guts to release a story to the world. Especially if it’s told right. I wonder if that’s why I’ve delayed my novel for so long.

Would you rather read or watch a story that is true to itself even though it’s painful, or do you prefer a happy, albeit false ending?

 

11 thoughts on “O is for Opinions

  1. I think pissing people off can be a good thing if done for the right reasons. If there is one ending that is the right ending, but may not be popular, it still is the right ending. People will either like the story or they won’t. No need to worry about pleasing everyone as that will never happen. Some of the best books have endings not everyone likes.
    Then there are other considerations. Namely, what kind of writer are you? What do you want to convey overall with your stories/books? What do you want to give people?
    The example of Great Expectations is a great one – one ending is bleak and the other gives hope. I personally as a writer prefer to give hope. I believe people need it more. That’s the kind of writer I want to be.
    But sometimes the bleak ending is the only right ending and there is no point fighting it.

    Like

  2. I think that most people would prefer a happy ending, especially when it comes to erotica. But those that don’t follow the usual route, I find, have a bigger impact and so therefore stays with the reader. So I’ll take a story that stays true to itself anyday.

    Like

Say something, damnit!

