SoCS – Almost Ready

Am I cheating by posting a SoCS post here? Maybe. But you see I’m not ready to come back. Not quite. I did say that I would take a month off from blogging and that month is almost over. What I wasn’t expecting was the freedom to do other things while I wasn’t blogging. At least not this much freedom.

I’m within a hundred pages of the end of my sixth edit on my novel. I’ll go back and work on the first third of it after this and then re-write the first two chapters and I’m done. It’ll be off to publishers and agents.

As much as I want to come back to blogging, I’m hesitant to let go of my focus on my novel. So close to the end… so close to seeing it in print. I’m standing at the precipice, my arms are like helicopter blades spinning – okay helicopters on their sides. Helicopters crashing. That’s not good, is it?

See? This is why I’m editing my novel.

This post is part of Stream of Consciousness Saturday. Find it here http://lindaghill.com/2015/05/29/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-may-3015/ and join in the fun!

badge by Doobster - may his blog rest in peace
badge by Doobster – may his blog rest in peace
6 thoughts on “SoCS – Almost Ready

  1. It’s so helpful to read this, to know another blogger who struggles with time. Blogging can take up so much time, especially when you’re also working on a book, and all those other responsibilities. I’m working on my first book, a memoir that hopefully reads like a novel, and the more I learn, the more rewriting and editing I see it needs. It feels good to know I’m not alone. My house is messy, too. Having three dogs does not help. I enjoyed the helicopter imagery 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, JoAnne! And yeah, that’s the thing with writing – it’s a neverending learning process. At some point you have to throw your hands up and say it’s good enough, because it never will be… Frustrating, it is!
      Yes, my dear, you’re in good company and so am I. 🙂

      Like

Say something, damnit!

