…and that’s how the literary world ended.

The unimaginable has happened.

Close on the heels of finding out that E.L. James, author of Fifty Shades of Grey, has begun writing a “How To” book on writing (which makes me throw up in my mouth a little every time I think of it) came the suggestion from Kobo that I pre-order her next novel. It may or may not be entitled Grey – it was hard to tell through the blur of tears as I read theΒ devastating news email. What I did get was that the book is, get this,Β Fifty Shades of Grey AGAIN but through the eyes of Christian Grey instead of Anastasia (aka Mrs.) Grey.

I’ve mourned the loss of the money IΒ threw away spent when I bought the trilogy enough, I think, to know better than to buy the same thing AGAIN. But fans of the first three books surely will.

Will millions of readers die of boredom? Or worse, will they live to take advice from Ms. James on how to write a novel?

Stay tuned. And don’t worry, I’ll be there to hold your hand when the literary world gets whipped right out of existence.

 

22 thoughts on “…and that’s how the literary world ended.

  1. Heh. I’m with you. I’ve not read the series, personally, since I never really had any interest in them to begin with, and all the talk about how bad they are has only reaffirmed my disinterest. That being said, I could have sworn I heard something on the news the other day about the manuscript for her new book being stolen or something.

    Like

  2. At the risk of sounding snobby, I’ve noticed a lot of popular books aren’t especially good. And by that I mean that they are pedestrian, bland and easy to consume. That’s why they’re popular, the same reason Two and a Half Men is popular or Fast & Furious movies are popular. It’s snack-lit. Fifty Shades has become the lightning rod of bad fiction, likely because of its titillating subject matter, but I suspect it’s not much worse than much else out there. Of course, I say this without having read it, and I’m spouting off here only because I came to this realization the other day after reading yet another bestseller that left me feeling meh, and I just thought I’d get it off my chest.

    There are also many poorly written comments…

    Like

    • Haha! But not yours, Ross. πŸ™‚
      I’ve read some pretty badly written books in my time too – ones that I’ve not been able to finish. 50 Shades was, in comparison, a train wreck. Just read the first chapter–or any chapter–and I’m sure you’ll see what I mean. Content aside, it’s horrid.
      Thanks so much for your most excellent comment and for the follow. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. As a writer and a lit snob, I was saddened when my wife bought the first book. Then after reading 1 chapter, she proclaimed it the crap I told her it was and our golden retriever chewed it up and we all laughed.

    Like

Say something, damnit!

