Ex-Lover

what good does it do
this time of year
to remember you, but i do

the gifts i gave you
the birthday of an ex-lover
but what i remember most
are the gifts you gave me

silk skin and song
hard gentle touch and beauty
and oh, how you pushed my limits
just to disappear with a titanium kiss
but,

we drifted apart, didn’t we?
there was no sharp split
just a space, a hole
where you once filled my life
and other parts of me

each year, this time
i think of you and wonder
if you ever think of me
for you were un spectacle,
and in many ways, i was your first
and i will never stop thanking my lucky stars
that you were once my lover

4 thoughts on “Ex-Lover

  1. Good words on Ex Lover
    Rarely found
    But the love it was
    After all that was love.
    Welcome to see my latest poems on my blog.
    I shall be so happy of your visit.
    You are the one who was the first one on my follow.
    Wont you see what’s GOING ON MY BLOG!!!
    Shiva

    Like

Say something, damnit!

