Tuesday Use It In a Sentence – Demonstrate

Demonstrate once, observe twice.

Have you ever had someone try to teach you something but they won’t let you do it yourself? I find this so annoying. The best way to learn something is to give it a hands-on try. Especially when it comes to computer stuff. It takes me several successful attempts at something to retain most things I do on many programs and sites.

I do understand from the perspective of the teacher that it’s faster to do it yourself, but why are you bothering to teach it if you don’t want the student to learn it? It all comes down to the same thing: if you’re gonna do something, do it right.

Right?

This is part of #tuesdayuseitinasentence http://lindaghill.com/2015/10/06/new-prompt-tuesday-use-it-in-a-sentence-demonstrate/ Join in with all your social media accounts! Click the link for the rules.

5 thoughts on “Tuesday Use It In a Sentence – Demonstrate

  1. Yes, but no. I’m more a visual learner, but I get this completely, and often I can sense The Mister’s frustration at being shown.
    For about ten years, I couldn’t start a blanket stitch without my mother showing me how AGAIN. Now I have YouTube, haha!

    Like

  2. This is one of the worst things any teacher can do for a couple of reasons. The biggest one, in my opinion, is it destroys confidence in the pupil from both the teacher’s perspective and the learners perspective. Luckily there is YouTube as Joey mentioned, I use it all the time to learn new things, so great I can rewind and learn at my own pace.

    Like

Say something, damnit!

