A novel idea

Okay, so there’s this woman I’ve been “friends” with on social media for about eleven years now. She’s single, close to thirty years old, still living with her parents and hating it, looking for a job, and basically spending her life living off her art and playing video games. She’s a character and a half and I soooo want to write her.

But I’m not sure I can. You see, she has a particular ailment that she’s extremely sensitive about, that is so much a part of who she is that I can’t write it out of her. So if I write a novel and use her, even though it’s fiction, I’m sure she’ll see it to be herself. The novel, even though she is the protagonist, will not be very flattering as she herself has a rather distasteful personality. What to do…

I know! Isabella Morgan may just become an author.

What would you do?

19 thoughts on “A novel idea

  1. Well the chances of my friends reading something I wrote would be nill, so I would probably do it. However, it sounds like she would read it, so maybe use her as a template but make some vast changes. Dunno, it is tricky.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a great character. πŸ™‚ Just be careful~ while turning it into a novel would protect you from most legal issues, if you don’t change the “story” surrounding her, you could actually get into some hot water!

    Like

    • In real life she’s pretty devoid of “story.” I’d be using her personality and, to some extent, her situation, but that would be the end of the similarities. Thanks for the suggestion, Alex. You’ve given me something to think about. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Say something, damnit!

