An update on the ex thing

When I got home the other day (how long has it been now? Five days?) I decided to go ahead and answer my ex’s mother about the graduation pictures she’s been waiting for, and my ex’s girlfriend about the Christmas present. I had mixed results.

I sent my ex-mother-in-law a zip file of a bunch of photos I had. I’m not sure whether or not she opened the zip file – she never answered me back. Payback maybe? Whatever.

As for the ex’s girlfriend, I wrote back and told her that my son has been asking for a Nintendo 3DS for ages, and “it would be great if you could get him that – thanks!” She replied that she talked to my son on the weekend, and he said he wanted clothes and books. Not to be outdone, I replied, “Great! You can get him the 3DS for his birthday (in two weeks) then! 😀 ” She sent back a note to say she thought he already had a DS. I said he does, but they don’t make games for it anymore. She never answered me back.

My only regret is that I’ve already bought him a laptop. The 3DS will be less than half the price. Then again, I’m not holding my breath that they’ll buy it for him.

After all that, I texted my ex and asked him for an apology. The answer I got back was, “Sorry!”

Was that, I’m so sorry I feel like I need to put an exclamation on it? Or was that, I’m sorry! Now shut up and leave me alone!? Probably the latter. You’ve just gotta laugh.

5 thoughts on “An update on the ex thing

  1. Dear Miss Izzy, one thing I have learned about ex’s is that nothing is ever said with any genuine sentiment..its always begrudging if said at all…so you know them better than anyone….would you expect anything different…..and I’d say as an outsider looking in from a long way off that the “Sorry” meant nothing or at least the second of your options. Have a lovely weekend..

    Like

  2. I’ve often felt very lucky that my first marriage did not result in children. We got to walk away and not look back. I hope this evolves into an easier drill, going forward.

    Like

Say something, damnit!

